American Board of Veterinary Toxicology (ABVT) Home Page

Annual Certification Examination Information

The deadline for submitting an application for the 2020 certification examination is October 1, 2019. You can submit a new application or update an existing application by going to our Candidate Application site.

Congratulations to our 2019 ABVT Travel Award Winner

Shannon Darby, DVM - a Large Animal Internal Medicine Resident at the University of Florida’s Large Animal Hospital was this year’s recipient of the ABVT travel award.  Dr. Darby used the award to present at the ACVIM forum that was held in Phoenix, AZ in June, 2019.  The title of her presentation was: Plasma l-Indospicine and 3-Nitropropionic Acid in Ponies Fed Creeping Indigo.


Who We Are

Since 1967, the ABVT is an American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) recognized veterinary specialty. The ABVT became the first professional organization to provide certification in the field of toxicology.  Board certified veterinary toxicologists are a vital link in human and animal health.  These individuals work in a variety of sectors including academia, veterinary medical diagnostic laboratories, poison control centers, government agencies, industry, research laboratories, and private consulting firms.  

What We Do

The ABVT is a group of specially trained veterinarians that strive to inform and educate the public, private practice veterinarians and veterinary medical students about toxicologic hazards to pets, livestock and wildlife.  Since its inception, the ABVT has administered an annual certifying examination that evaluates a candidate’s knowledge in general toxicology, chemical toxicology, radiation biology, toxicity testing, clinical toxicology, and environmental toxicology, among other relevant topics.  Candidates for the ABVT certifying examination are required to hold a veterinary degree and have additional postgraduate training or experience in toxicology or a closely related scientific discipline. 

Learn More

To learn more about what the ABVT offers, download our brochure and visit our ABVT In The News page.

       New Diplomates

Congratulations to our new (2018) diplomates:  Dr. Joahnna Keigwin from the ASPCA Animal Poison Control Center and Dr. Arya Sobhakumari from Nestle Purina.  Dr. Keigwin attended veterinary school at the University of Missouri in Columbia. She practiced small animal medicine in California before joining the ASPCA Animal Poison Control Center in 2007.  Dr. Sobhakumari attended veterinary school at Kerala Agricultural University, India.  She then joined the Human Toxicology Program at the University of Iowa in 2008 and completed her Ph.D. in 2013.  Dr. Sobhakumari subsequently completed a veterinary toxicology residency at California Animal Health and Food Safety Laboratory System, with the University of California, Davis School of Veterinary Medicine. Dr. Sobhakumari joined Nestle Purina last year.


Congratulations to our newly elected President-elect, Dr. Tam Garland, and Secretary, Dr. Adrienne Bautista. 

  • Dr. Garland completed her DVM and PhD at Texas A&M University (TAMU). During her career she has taught toxicology at TAMU, and worked at Eli Lilly, and the Indiana Board of Animal Health. Dr. Garland extended her interest in transboundary animal diseases with a position at the Department of Homeland Security as the Director of Agricultural Security. She returned to Texas as the section head of Toxicology at the Texas Veterinary Medical Diagnostic Laboratory (TVMDL). Following retirement from TVMDL in 2015, Dr. Garland continues to practice veterinary medicine as a relief veterinarian and as a toxicology consultant in a partnership consulting firm.
  • Dr. Bautista completed her DVM and PhD at the University of California, Davis. Dr. Bautista practiced small animal general and emergency medicine in Sacramento and served as the campus veterinarian for a local Veterinary Technology program. She returned to the University of California in 2012 to complete a residency in Veterinary Toxicology focusing on food animal toxicology and neurotoxicology. Dr. Bautista worked briefly for the California Environmental Protection Agency, before returning to general practice in 2016.

Current President: Dr. Dorman is Professor of Toxicology at North Carolina State University (NCSU). Dr. Dorman completed his DVM at Colorado State University and PhD and residency in veterinary toxicology at the University of Illinois, and a postdoctoral fellowship in toxicology at the Chemical Industry Institute of Toxicology (CIIT).  He remained at CIIT as a staff scientist until joining NCSU’s veterinary school in 1997.  He became President of the ABVT in 2018.   


Current Treasurer: Dr. Ahna Brutlag serves as the Director of Veterinary Services at the PetPoison Helpline. Dr. Brutlag received her DVM from the University of Minnesota and subsequently practiced small animal medicine in the Minneapolis area before pursing post-graduate training in veterinary toxicology. She completed a Master’s of Science in toxicology at the University of Minnesota and a professional externship at California Animal Health and Food Safety (CAHFS) Laboratory at the University of California, Davis, School of Veterinary Medicine. Dr. Brutlag has been with the PetPoison Helpline since 2004.  Dr. Brutlag became Treasurer of the ABVT in 2016.